Filmfare Award

Filmfare Award

Awards Location


Awarded to Media


Statuette Name

The Black Lady

Award Presented by

Filmfare magazine, a Bollywood cine magazine, published fortnightly in India

First Awarded

In 1954
Check out the awards by year

About this Award

The Filmfare Awards ceremony is one of the oldest and most prominent film events given for Hindi films in India. The Filmfare awards were first introduced in 1954, the same year as the National Film Awards and was initially referred to as the Clare Awards after the magazine's editor. A dual voting system was developed in 1956. Under this system, in contrast to the National Film Awards, which are decided by a panel appointed by Indian Government, the Filmfare Awards are voted for by both the public and a committee of experts.

The Filmfare awards were first introduced in 1953. The Clares was the original name of the award ceremony, named after Filmfare critic Clare Mendonca. Readers of Filmfare magazine were polled to decide the winners, and over 20,000 readers spread throughout India participated in the polls; trophies were given to winners of the popular vote. In the first awards function, held on 21 March 1954, only five awards were presented – for the best film , the best director, the best actor, the best actress, and the best music director. Do Bigha Zameen was the first movie to win the award for the best film. The first winners for other four categories were: Bimal Roy for direction of Do Bigha Zameen, Dilip Kumar for his performance in Daag, Meena Kumari for her performance in Baiju Bawra, and Naushad for his music in Baiju Bawra. In 2006, Sanjay Leela Bhansali's Black won 11 Filmfare awards, the most won by a movie so far. To celebrate the 25th year of the awards the statues were made in silver and to celebrate the 50th year the statues were made in gold.
Scroll To Top